Opening Session

We have officially launched!

Our opening session was yesterday, September 27th, at the Hattie Mae White administrative building.  More than 80 students from 26 high schools showed up.

After an introduction by founding member David Valerio about how the Student Congress was founded,  Juliet Stipeche, HISD school board president, showed her support and spoke about how the Student Congress has been long overdue.

Afterward, the speaker and committee chairs were elected as follows:

  • Zaakir Tameez, Speaker of the Congress
  • Amy Fan, Outreach Committee chair
  • Jesus Solano, Finance Committee chair
  • Juliana Dunn, Agenda Committee chair
  • Raquel Douglas, Governance Committee chair
  • Jamie Russell, Advocacy Committee chair

All the students then chose a committee and brainstormed ideas with the chairs, who then shared these ideas with the entire Congress.

Here are details on each of these of these committees and how you can join.

Pictures from the event can be found on our Facebook page. Our next meeting will be on October 9th at the HISD board meeting.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this:
search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close